Real Estate Renovations

Build My Closet Around….This.

In Closets/Pantrys, Design Options, real estate, Spaces on April 19, 2012 at 12:15 PM

So I am easing my way back into reality today and looking at the multitude of items that still need resolution.  One of them is this. Take a look at the project that is most definitely an obsession.  Its been called a lot of different things including the Lazy Shoe-Zan among others.  In a nutshell its a brilliant idea for holding shoes.  It is a self-contained unit with a lazy susan like device that has cubbies for individual pair of shoes.

I am not the girl that keeps all of the shoe boxes my shoes come in, mostly because of space.  Many times I don’t even get a box when I nab a fantastic deal at Nordstrom Rack. I have tried a number of solutions which all seem to work for a few weeks.  All it takes is a frantic Sunday morning when I need to find a specific pair of shoes and only one is cooperating so I tear apart the entire closet and its destined to remain as such for the next month.

So literally when I ran across this picture it became my mission to locate and purchase said item. Easier said than done.  It’s not manufactured for sale by a company and though there are a few individuals out there with like items, securing this bad boy has become more than a notion.

I have located a step by step tutorial done by a handy-dandy Home depot employee which has been helpful. There is also a carpenter in Utah that is selling the plans for the item, but wont ship it outside of the state.  So I have taken all the information I have been able to compile and headed over Angie’s List to locate a good woodworker.  Great idea.  The first quote I received back was in the arena of $1200. BOOOOOOO!!!!

I have thought about perhaps having it done in a resin like material or MDF that might be less expensive, but have not yet been able to find a fabricator as of yet.  So the journey continues an I hope someone reading this can offer a suggestion. I am determined to get this into my closet!! I am actually even willing to find someone who can cut all the pieces so that the hubs and I can put it together on site.

At this point all I have is a cute little 32″ x 32″ box on the master designs awaiting its arrival 😦

Dream Home.

  1. This is a super cool idea! I hope you find somebody to built this for you. My thoughts would be if you’re going to paint it… save your money and use MDF. I think a really good carpenter could build this for you. 1,200 seem pretty steep to me. I would think $500-600 would be more the ball park…which is still expensive, isn’t it. Those fabulous carpenters are mighty proud of their work. Sorry, I’m not much help but I’m rooting for you. Hope you get it!
    -Stacey

What do YOU think?

