Real Estate Renovations

Space to Take My Breath Away

In Design Options, Kitchens, Living Room, Materials, real estate, Spaces on April 20, 2012 at 11:42 AM
Pleasant Valley contemporary bedroom
So, it has been long decided that grey, in many of its forms will be a staple in the new spaces. In my mind I really kept seeing accent colors that really popped like turquoise, purple or fuchsia.
Pleasant Valley contemporary family room

I had dangled the idea of a neutral sofa to the hubs, to lukewarm response… But now I’m seeing these images and I feel reborn!  I know I gravitate toward high style glitz and glamour, but I do honestly want something that is stylish yet comfortable and easily manageable.  I don’t want to cringe when someone flops in one of our chairs ( though that is a bit rude, don’t ya think?)

Pleasant Valley contemporary family room
Use of dove-gray and grayish blues with pale sand colors is really resonating with me.  We have purposely chosen kitchen colors that are NOT in the toasty caramel brown family (can you say DONE TO DEATH!) The cabinets are espresso very dark and the floors are called mudslide, which is also very dark and chocolatey.  The granite also leans a bit to the gray side.  It’s all very encouraging folks!!
Pacific Hillside Retreat traditional family room

My one caveat on going in this direction would really be to avoid at all cost event the slightest hint or reference to the beach.  No seashells, no bead board or white wainscoting. Though not far from the water and in an area known for waterish types of things, we’re just not those people.
Everything about this makes me smile.  It’s cool and light and airy, it feels spacious and comfortable. It’s stylish and intentional but not pretentious.  And it’s not girly so the hubs will offer a thumbs up! WHOO HOO!!!
Its gonna be a good day!
  1. […] is available in a number of colors and I could see this white option working with my ideal color palette magnificently.  I just have to wrap my mind around white stools.  I’ve never given that any […]

What do YOU think?

